We Recognize Our Partners in Library Support!

The Friends of Kentucky Libraries couldn’t do what we do without the dedication and support of both individual members and Friends chapters throughout the state, and we would like to recognize the folks you think are deserving of statewide recognition!

We’re now accepting nominations for our 2018 Awards!

Submit your nominations for Outstanding Friend and/or
Outstanding Chapter.

Nomination forms must be submitted by October 12.

Awards will be presented at our Annual Meeting on November 17.

The 2016 Outstanding Friend of the Year
is Lynn Kruger from the Warren County
Friends of the Library in Bowling Green.

Judith Burdine presents the award to Lynn Kruger

“Lynn is one of those dedicated ‘worker bees’ that every Friends group needs: capable, prompt, friendly, welcoming, ever present, and eager to work when needed and a constant, selfless library advocate without pushing forth a personal agenda.” –  Linda Hitchcock, Nominator

The 2016 Outstanding Friends Chapter is the Friends of the Hardin County Public Library

Accepting the award for the Hardin County Public Library Friends Group left to right are: Judith Burdine (FKL President), Jim Weise, Deb Weise, Beckie Henry, George Dille, and Rene Hutcheson.
As Marlane Youngblood, Chair of the Hardin County Public Library Board of Trustees, stated, “They encourage citizens to get involved in Frankfort at legislative days where our leaders hear their candid voices and concerns. They provide a unified voice to advocate for Kentucky libraries and in particular, they revitalize support for the Hardin County Public Library.”

The 2016 Outstanding Advocacy Award
goes to Lisa Rice, Library Director at the Warren County Public Library.

Judith Burdine (FKL President) presents the
award to Lisa Rice

Lisa Rice has been the Director of the Warren County Public Library since 2008. She is very active in the Kentucky Library Association where she is currently serving as ALA Councilor. Last year she served as Chairman of the KPLA Advocacy Committee and was selected by her peers as the recipient of the James Nelson Award which is given to an individual who goes above and beyond in promoting and protecting libraries in regard to government relations.

The FKL Board wants to thank all who took the time to nominate these dedicated individuals, and encourage our Friends to recognize those in our communities who go above and beyond to advocate for Kentucky’s Public Libraries.

Read more about these Outstanding Friends in the Fall 2016 FKL Newsletter.